Many a walker has undoubtedly suffered bug bites, whether they be from mosquitoes or some other nefarious insect. While I was living in England I’d had little issues in that department, but the second I moved back to Texas, all hell broke lose.

When we returned the area we lived in was suffering a drought. Plants dying, rivers drying up, ground cracked, etc. I figured that–because there was little water–I’d have few to no problems with insects and started wearing shorts. You’re probably wondering what the problem was. The issue is that my assumption was incorrect. There were bugs about–alive and biting–and they apparently came out after dark.

I love to walk, especially when I’m bored and I have nothing to do. My mother describes me as being an Energizer Bunny, always on the go. One evening, after it had gotten dark, I decided that I’d take a walk around the block; in shorts, with no bug spray, and walk past a bunch of dry weeds. A disaster was imminent.

At first I had no problem. I saw nor felt anything was amiss. When I got home the problems were immediately apparent. All across my legs were bug bites. They went from the base of my ankle straight up to my hip. And they itched! I started scratching like crazy, hoping up and down, cursing our lack of ointment. This went on for some time. I’m fully aware that bug bites itch more when they’re scratched, but I couldn’t help myself.

Eventually, I either got tired of hopping, or the bites stopped itching and I was able to do something more reasonable, taking a shower for example. After that I either stayed clear of those weeds, wore jeans, or had bug spray. I’d like to say that I learned from the lesson, but as the saying goes, ‘The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result every time.’ And I’ve had plenty of people tell me I’m crazy.

Unknown-1

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

