Everyone knows about karma. What comes around goes around. That if you do unto others, sooner or later it will be done unto you. The thing that most people don’t realize is, that when karma bites, it can do so with surprising swiftness.

I was living in Augusta, GA when I was eleven. The neighborhood that we lived in had a strip of trees running through it with a creek at its center. I loved going back there and exploring. If I could take people there all the better. I saw myself as a fantastic hiker whose keen understanding of her environment allowed me to avoid some of the mishaps my fellow adventures inevitably had. Unfortunately, this confidence turned into overconfidence and one day I payed the price.

One saturday morning I went into those woods with a friend, Raymond. Since we intended to go to his house, we entered the woods at mine and worked our way from there. My friend was decidedly clumsy as he slipped, slid, and all but fell into the creek each time we crossed. Me? I leapt across with grace and poise, more than happy to show him off. We eventually neared his house and–do to our previous course–had to cross the stream again. My friend slipped into the stream feet first, soaking himself up to his ankles. I laughed and leapt over the stream and onto a puddle.

Or–as it should be–into the puddle.

To this day I don’t know what it was, but when my feet hit that puddle I sank strait up to my chest. I was instantly soaked and filthy, not to mention I needed my friend’s assistance to get out. The real kicker? It was mid February. Freezing, my friend and I parted ways. He only had to walk a dozen feet to his house. I had to walk a block in the freezing weather while I was soaked to my skin. I did learn an important lesson that day.

Karma bites. Sometimes rather quickly.

Hinduism.KarmaYoga

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

