There are many a winter fan who will undoubtedly despise me for this, but I prefer summer to winter. Before anybody gets on their warhorse to champion the coldest months of the year, hear me out. You might be surprised into agreeing with my reasoning.

To start with, I don’t despise winter. I like how the frigid air bites at my skin and makes everything seem sharper. I love it when I live somewhere that snows and I’m able to indulge my inner child by building snowmen. In fact, I don’t really have a problem with winter specifically, or even cold weather in general–provided that I can get out of it. But when there’s no escaping it, you tend to change you’re tune pretty quickly.

At 5′ 7″ and ranging between 110-115 pounds, I’m as skinny as a rail without an ounce of body fat on me. This means that I have no reserves to ward of the nefarious chill that makes winter unpleasant. If you dropped a group of people into the middle of Antarctica I’d be the first to die of hypothermia. No bets need be taken on that. It WOULD happen. On the other hand, having more in common with a stick means that sweltering heat doesn’t bother me. I’ve walked two or three miles in hundred-plus degree weather without having any ill affects. I’d like to see the average layman do that.

The other issue is that–for more years than I care to count–I lived in a house with crappy A/C. My room was the farthest away which meant–as seems to be my lot–that my refuge turned into an icebox. I’d have to wear thick socks, jeans, a shirt, two sweaters, and wrap myself in a blanket just to stay relatively warm. The only thing worse was my bathroom which was right next to my room and suffered the same ill effect. I don’t know how many of you have tried undressing before getting into the shower when it’s almost cold enough for you to see your  breath, but let me tell you–it’s an excellent motivator to move it.

My reasons probably sound silly to some, but can anyone truly blame me? My only other option for changing my preference would be to find a single sweater that could keep me as snug as a bug.

Anybody have a poncho made of alpaca fur? Anybody?

Unknown

Disclaimer: I do not own the artwork used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

