I’m sure plenty of you have gone to a theme park once in your life. Six Flags, Busch Gardens, Disney World……there as fun as they are expensive, more so when you have family in tow. The first theme park I ever went to was Sea World. My mother, brother, and I went with our grandparents and–despite it being fairly predictable–had a rather fun surprise.

When my mother said we were going to Sea World I was ecstatic. I’ve always loved animals and getting to see exotic creatures such as the manatee and dolphins simply shot me into the stratosphere. I was less pleased with the rides–I’m not very thrilled at being spun precariously at high speeds–and the games cost so much that they could drive a millionaire into debt, but the animals were worth it. And of course, the attraction of all attractions, the one everybody goes to Sea World to witness, the Killer Whale show.

Around noon, my family and I made our way to the area where the Orcas were held. We sat in the fifteenth row, thinking nothing of what the Orca’s trainers would have them do. The show proceeded and we were impressed. Eventually, they gave a warning about an upcoming part of the show. The Orcas would splash water into the crowed. If you didn’t want to get wet you needed to move beyond the twentieth row. My mother didn’t believe them and we remained where we were.

The show proceeded and the trainers eventually instructed the orcas to splash water into the crowd. They went around the edge of the seating area, splashing each area of the stands until they came to ours. The trainer gave the command, the tail moved, and a wall of water rushed up at us. It doused my entire family, leaving us soaking wet. I was thrilled, my mother in disbelief, and my brother? Well, he was five and thus, on the verge of tears. My mother decided that they should move to the very top of the stands, but I remained where I was. I didn’t see the reason to get up at that point.

Besides, I wanted to get wet again.

1221149-Seaworld-Adventure-Park

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

 

Leave a Reply

