I like watching movies in theaters as much as the next person. But between ridiculously priced tickets, ridiculously priced snacks, and a ridiculously small income, I don’t do it as often as most. Still, it does have its perks and I gained an appreciation for it over the years.

For starters, it makes movies seem so much more dynamic. You haven’t truly watched The Avengers (2012) until you watch the Hulk punch a giant armored alien fish to a complete stop in the middle of Manhattan, until you’ve done so on a screen that’s as long as my house. It also seems to convey more emotion. I’ve never come so close to tears as I did when I went to see Les Miserables (2012) when it first came out several years ago. I’ve watched the movie several times and while I always find Jean Valjean’s death moving, I all but cried when I saw it on the big screen.

It also has the added benefit of getting me out of my house. I can go see a movie, be surrounded by people without being compeled to talk to them, speak if I feel like it, and do something out of my usual routine. In hindsight, I’d probably be a hermit living in a wood hut, shooting trespassers with pellet rifles if I didn’t go out to see movies. I’m not kidding. I don’t get out much and I socialize even less.

The only problem I’ve ever had is the money draining snacks. Maybe it wouldn’t be such an issue if they were unusual things that you can’t find everywhere, but there not. There things that I could by anywhere and for a fraction of a price. What costs me seven dollars at a movie I could get at Wal-Mart for three or four. It’s led me at times to slip things in via the confines of my purse. I’ll probably get in trouble for admitting that, but I’m probably not the only one whose done it.

Watching a movie on the big screen is–without a doubt–more impressive than watching it at home. Just if you do it, be prepared for the wallet biting, or drag a partner in crime along.

Unknown

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

