Have you ever had an incident where a bunch of ridiculous, walking around in circles events occurred that left you really frustrated? And then you learn that if you’d done one simple act first, the whole situation could’ve been resolved? This evening, that was me in a nut shell.

As I’ve mentioned on my blog page–and people have probably figured out based on my posts–I love to write. In fact, I’m working on a short story for a competition whose deadline is looming. To get it done in time I decided to bring my computer to work. The only problem is that it’s to large to fit in my locker and I’m not comfortable leaving it in the break room. Solution? Leave it in my locked car with a jacket artfully draped over it so it doesn’t look like its concealing a computer. Brilliant! What could possibly go wrong?

As it turns out, a lot.

My mother–who works at the same store–and I came to work together. When we got here I realized that I’d left my work vest at home. I didn’t have enough time to go back and get it before I started work so my mother volunteered to retrieve it. Grateful, I gave her the keys and went to work. About half an hour later my mom shows up with my vest. I didn’t get my keys from her at this juncture which was mistake number one. I figured that–since she leaves her locker unlocked–I could retrieve them when I got off of work. Mistake number two.

My father also works at the same store and shares my mother’s locker. Apparently, when he got off of work he locked my mother’s locker. So I go to my mother–end up doing it twice–and ask for the combination. I finally manage to get my keys and head back to the store to get a few items that I needed, figuring that it wouldn’t take me long to get through the check out. Mistake number three.

By the time I got through the line and out to the car, nearly thirty minutes of my hour long window was gone. And the real kicker? The driver’s side door was unlocked. Yep. I could’ve simply walked out there, opened the door, unlocked the car, and retrieved my laptop within ten minutes. I never had to get my keys.

Anyone got one of those Bang-Head-Here signs? Anybody?

Unknown

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

