I dislike large dogs. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a fan of all things furry. Yet when you’ve nearly had you’re leg bitten off on more than one occasion, it’s difficult not to develop perceptions about such creatures.

My main method of exercise is jogging. On average I run two miles four times a week and have been doing it for years. When I started I was living in England where loose dogs weren’t a worry. When a country has laws that require you to carry bags to pick up your dogs crap regardless of where you are, you shouldn’t be surprised if Fido is MIA. I didn’t give this much thought until our second move after we returned to the United States.

My family settled into a house that was situated in a neighborhood on the edge of town. As a result of that, the leash laws weren’t’ enforced. I don’t know if you’ve been to central Texas, but you can’t take one step without touching a Chihuahua. Those dogs have more guts than sense, but them running loose wasn’t an issue. After all, I could punt them across the street. No, the problem was there much larger cousins.

There seemed to be an excessive number of large dogs in the neighborhood and most of them seemed to be loose. I can’t remember how many times been driven against fences, dived for rocks, and simply prayed that I wouldn’t feel teeth sinking into my flesh. I had to change my jogging route more than once to avoid the critters. And then my family moved to our current residence and I thought things would be better.

I was wrong.

The house we moved into is located in a neighborhood that–you guessed it–was on the edge of town. And naturally, there are loose dogs everywhere. Unlike the ones around our old property, these seemed especially viscous. My parents and I were so afraid for my safety that they got me pepper spray which I carry with me whenever I step foot outside my door. It is truly frustrating that I can’t take a walk or go jogging without having to protect myself from man’s best friend. But these days I tend to look at it practically.

Better the pepper spray than having a chunk taken out of my hide.

25FC47FC00000578-2964987-The_clip_features_the_three_men_being_chased_jumped_upon_and_sur-a-19_1424683127576

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

