I didn’t think I’d be revisiting my iPhone post so soon–at all actually–but here I am. No, they didn’t refuse to cancel the contract. Yes, I did have enough money to pay it off. And no, I did not lose my Pay-As-You-Go-Phone, prompting additional and–possibly excessive–fees to replace it. What happened then? In short: flaming hoops.

It started this morning. I got up, did my exercises, and sat down to eat breakfast. I booted up my computer with the intent of canceling my contract on the companies website, as the bill said I could do so. I don’t know if that was a print error, an outright lie, or my shoddy technology skills are worse than I thought, but I couldn’t find the place where I could cancel my contract. Plenty of articles about how to cancel it and where, but nothing that corresponded to the website. It took me thirty minutes to figure out that this wouldn’t work.

So, I decide to go to the actual store and have them cancel the contract. First, however, I have to pay off the contract as well as fork money over for the monthly bill. I do that, the person spends time alternating between playing a game on their phone and doing some stuff on their computer, and finally hands me some papers, but not the ones I was hoping for. Apparently, I had to call a phone number–specified by the associate–before I could get my contract canceled.

I call the number and–after fifteen minutes of repeatedly trying to navigate an artificial voice directory–finally get a live person who spoke accented english and told them my request. They couldn’t help me. Apparently, I’d been given the wrong number and had to call another one to get my contract canceled. So I do that, and after nine minutes of listening to ads and stupid elevator music, get another living person on the phone. It took said person less than five minutes to cancel contract. I am now and officially free of that ball and chain.

As technology progresses it seems that things get increasingly more complicated. I understand the need for automated telling when you have hundreds of customers, but this was ridiculous.

After all, I wouldn’t have had to jump through so many flaming hoops if I could’ve simply talked to a live, human being in the first place.

131008003454-sbt-kravitz-finding-siris-voice-00000526-story-top

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

