I love to draw, although I don’t do it much these days. I’ve always been an artsy type, and like all artists, I have my preference–pencils and other similar ilk. Why? One word: patience.

Part of the issue is that I’m an extremely active person. My mother calls me an Energizer Bunny, an apt description. My mind is always buzzing, driving me to go go go. I don’t sit still unless I’m actively doing something. If I don’t have something to do, I go up the wall–follow the tread marks if you wish to find me. Drawing in pencil, charcoal, color pencil, etc. came naturally as a result. It’s involves quick, repetitive movements that sate my personality Not to mention that charcoal is a somewhat forgiving medium that makes it easy to erase mistakes–of which I’ve made a lot.

So, what about painting? Tried it and quickly gave up. The primary reason is that it’s an involved process that takes way to much time for me. You have to set up your paints, mix as necessary, apply small amounts of paint to certain areas, and so on. In addition, I’m simply not that good at it. I once tried to get into acrylic painting by drawing and then coloring pictures out of a book of mine. My drawing skills are better than my painting, but I’m no expert. That–in combination with the paint–produced a somewhat decent copy of the original. The problem was that the woman in my version looked angry and pissed off, where the original looked serene and mysterious. I got the message pretty quick.

There’s also the technical aspects involved. You have to remember specifically how to get the colors you need, the different brushes and where they’re used, creating shading effects……..the list is endless. But if you go over to the drawing side things get a lot simpler. You have–on average–one to a dozen pieces to use in creating your masterpiece, and the manner of their use is essentially identical. Not to mention that they’re cheaper. A lot cheaper.

I can only imagine what any painters will say if they come across this post decrying their favorite medium. Being a fellow artist myself, I know how prickly we can be. Rest assured that I’m not offending you, I’m simply admitting that I’m a tad impatient.

And giving you a compliment in the process.

765a9f287577df6cd6bcd61a7046f87da18a8e0e

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

2 thoughts on “Epiphany: I’m An Impatient Person

  1. I’m like you. I love sketching. All my notebooks are filled with sketches and doodles in the corners, but to tell me to paint or colour anything in and I blanch. It is such a time consuming and meticulous process and I have no time for it.

    Have you seen this new coloring book fad? I thought I could talk myself into hopping on the bandwagon, but I am almost 100% sure I won’t even get past the first page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

