I know I’ve mentioned the frustrations of dealing with an automated voice teller. After my most recent occurrence in that area, I thought that they couldn’t get any more aggravating. Naturally, life decided to prove me wrong.

I graduated from college three years ago and–like many people–am working to pay back more money than I care to admit. I have a federal and state bill to pay each month via–you guessed it–an automated teller. I payed the first without incident. The other one decided to be a problem.

I called up the number and navigated the flaming hoops in order to pay my bill. I entered my information only to get a monotone response telling me that they couldn’t process the payment. Why you ask? Apparently, they only accept payments monday-friday from 9-5 during their business hours.

Suffice to say that I wasn’t happy. I grumbled about it to my dad who came up with a logical–and economical–reason for why this was so. They only permit telephone payments during business hours because a live human being is needed to process the information after it has been submitted. They use the automated voice teller as a gate keeper so that they can employ less warm bodies. I’ll admit it makes sense, but it only goes so far.

After all, if you’re going to limit when an automated voice teller can be used, then what’s the point of having it in the first place?

Unknown

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

