As a kid I found summer vacation boring. My family went nowhere, I had nothing to do, and the few friends I had were vacationing in the far flung corners of the world. If not for the relentless bullying at school, I might’ve preferred that to Dull Central. Now–nearly seven years into my adult life–the boredom has become preferable.

I’ve worked since I was fourteen. At first, it was a way to earn my own money–such as it was–but also to occupy my summer breaks. But like so many things in life, that changed. My adult life is a day by day schedule of work with intermittent breaks called ‘Days Off’. And Vacation? I’ve either haven’t lasted long enough at a job, or said job doesn’t offer paid vacation. The latter is necessary as I’m not rich enough to do otherwise.

Holidays have lost their luster as well. Thanksgiving is Black Friday. Easter was the first day that I did Banquet Waitstaff. And don’t even get me started on Christmas and New Years Eve. Basically, these special days that I used to look forward to aren’t so special anymore, following the death knell of summer vacation.

Not that I’ve given up mind you. I have a mental list of places I want to visit and am ever so slowly socking away money for a week long exploration of Italy. Never mind that most of my pay is gone before it hits my bank account and a trip to the mediterranean is prohibitively expensive, but I’m determined to do it eventually.

All of this makes me think back on my outlook as a kid. When I was essentially granted a mandatory vacation I would be envious of my classmates and the places where they’d go. Now, I’d be grateful for any vacation at all.

Including one where I did absolutely nothing.

0607jobs2

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

