Fired.

It’s a word that we’ve all heard before and one that I’m all to familiar with. But being fired usually takes time and–at the very least–longer than five hours. That said, I’ve never been one to follow the usual norms, much to my detriment.

After graduating college, I found that my job as Banquet Waitstaff was barely capable of keeping up with the financial demands of student loans. Still, I was unwilling to give it up–it was the only one I managed to keep–and my clever solution was to get a second job.

While the idea itself may’ve been clever, the job I eventually accepted was not. I was hired as a Front Desk Attendant and accepted it even though I knew full well that I’m terrible with people. So, why did I do it? Because I was being promised thirty hours a week at ten dollars an hour–two point that my other job couldn’t address. Things might’ve been fine if I hadn’t gone from the starting line directly to disaster.

I quickly learned that being a Front Desk Attendant is dull. Despite having to be a ‘people person’, you don’t deal with people as often as I expected, and there was a limit to where and when I could learn to do my job which left me with nothing to do. As a reincarnation of the Energizer Bunny, I quickly went up the wall. I did two things to keep myself from going crazy; I paced, and I used the internet on my phone. Both got me into trouble.

Towards the end of my shift I was called into the office where the Assistant Manager tells me that I’m being ‘let go’ for my pacing–which supposedly kept me from being taught–and my phone surfing–which no one said that I couldn’t do. They told me I would be payed, but I refused. I wanted nothing from a job that had thrown me to the curb without any warning, or any chance to improve.

I’d had high hopes for that job and was angry over it for a long time, but nowadays I can look back on it nonchalantly and even with a degree of amusement. After all, how many people can say that they lost a job the same day that they started it?

images

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

