Amongst the scattering trees did they lie,

empty and quiet in the silent wind.

Lonely voices–echoes of the lost past,

speaking in the haunted silence of day.

Nostalgic memories swirl in the air,

whispering softly of innocent times.

I close my eyes and those times come to me:

they dance amongst the grass and through the trees.

A child’s laughter dances in my ear,

filling me with the joy of her sweet song.

I can feel the rough grass beneath her feet;

see the sun running through her hair–ever

trailing the path of light that flows within.

The hammocks creak, chasing it all away.

Leave a Reply

