Stories–the good and the bad, the classics and the fads–are everywhere and in numbers to rival the largest armies. But all stories–no matter how unique–must come from somewhere, usually from a source of inspiration in the world. To show that, I thought I’d discuss some of my stories and the inspiration behind them.

A Thief of Twilight

A Thief of Twilight

The desire to write a theif novel was imprinted on my subconscious several years ago when I played Thief (2014) and further fanned when I read A Midnight Thief (Livia Blackwell). When I needed a short story idea for a competition, I decided to scratch this long held itch.

While the dark tones of the story were inspired by Thief, I took more inspiration from A Midnight Thief; the mystical elements, declarative sentence beginning the first chapter, and the breaking and entering of a fortress.

The Exiles

The Exiles

While Science Fiction has always been my first love, Fantasy Fiction has never been far behind. For years my greatest fantasy read that involved elves was the Inheritance Cycle (Christopher Paolini) until I started playing the Dragon Age games which gave an interesting take on elves.

The Exiles–I have to say–was largely inspired by Dragon Age as the elves in the story are mortal. Most of them anyway. In the short story I wrote, the only truly immortal elf is the Immortal Queen, who  can give or take immortality from her subjects.

tfa_poster_wide_header

My inspiration hasn’t solely been for short stories. I’m a big fan of Star Wars and this is what inspired me to write my first novel–which remains unpublished–and involves aliens, space battles, and secrets stretching across time. The trilogy that I’m currently writing also has a source of inspiration–Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse. Watching the moved sparked the idea for the book–even though talking dragons is the only thing that they have in common.

This is why experience is so important for a writer. Yes, ideas are a dime a dozen, but it’s the stories that come from inspiration that tend to be the strongest.

Disclaimer: I do not own the imagery used in this blog post and have no artistic claim to it.

Leave a Reply

