To stand in darkness is to stand in night

where nothing is seen and no joy is found.

Yet I know that defiance can thrive,

the small acts of life are ones of courage.

Out of darkness and misery it comes,

its pale form beckoning me forth with hope.

A burst of yellow light draws forth my gaze,

bringing hope and willing it to take root.

I caress its petals with my finger

which are soft as velvet and full of life.

I inhale its scent and find new courage

to face all the fears that have held me back.

For if this wonder can grow in this place,

then there are no limits for one who tries.

2 thoughts on “The Dark Flower

  1. I really love this. Reminds me of ” Stars can’t shine without darkness”. With all the beautiful things in life there is some dark part to it. And hopefully one day, pure light can just overwhelm and grow from darkness. Keep up the remarkable work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

